Book Review: The Purge of Babylon by Sam Sisavath

I picked this up as a free borrow from the Kindle library.  Here is my review of The Purge of Babylon by Sam Sisavath.

The Purge of Babylon: A Novel of Survival (The Babylon Series) (Volume 1) - Sam Sisavath

I like the idea of this book.  It has all the excitement of a post-apocalyptic novel, but has it’s own fresh take.  I’m curious about who’s in charge and why it’s all happening.  I want to see what happens next.

My biggest complaint is with the women in the story.  They just didn’t seem very realistic to me.  It seemed that they were more about being placeholders for certain roles that might be needed but mostly the love interest who needed to be saved.  The real sticker for me is how a girl goes from being a rape victim who isn’t ready to get so physical is suddenly asking for multiple rounds of sex the next night with the same guy.  I can’t actually imagine what that situation would be like, but this just seemed off-putting for me.

So I like the mystery but not all of  the characters.  So I’m not quite sure yet if I’ll continue in the series, but for now I’ll split the difference in terms of the rating.  I give it two out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

