Book Review: The Heiress Effect by Courtney Milan

I had read the first book in this series and while I was confused by the setting, I figured I wanted to give the series another try.  I’m really glad I did.  Here is my review of The Heiress Effect by Courtney Milan.

The Heiress Effect (The Brothers Sinister) (Volume 2) - Courtney Milan

Now that I had a better idea of the time period and conflict between the nobility and the working class, I felt like I was really able to appreciate the story.  I think the legislation to expand the right to vote was a great backdrop to the romance of the story.

I also thought Jane was great.  It’s so interesting to see the problem of having so much money and wanting to stay single for a woman.  The way she managed her problem by putting on such a show was really fun to watch. She was always really certain of who she was and what she wanted and I really enjoyed that.

This was a big improvement compared to the first book as far as I’m concerned.  I also got a glimpse of what the plan is for the third book and absolutely have to read it.  I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

