Book Review: Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd

I left the end of the first book The Madman’s Daughter absolutely having to know.  I was so glad when I was able to get a copy of this from my library.  Here is my review of Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd.

Her Dark Curiosity - Megan Shepherd

Following in the steps of the first story this also takes a twist on a classic tale.  I’m familiar with Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde and think it fit in really well with the overall series.  There’s a sense of tragedy that complicates the story and Juliet’s internal struggle as to figure out what she has to do.

The love triangle still exists, but it is more tolerable because it ties directly to Juliet working through her own nature.  There is the lovely girl that Montgomery sees and wants to save and the free spirit (with either genius or madness depending on how you look at it) that Edward speaks too.  I think the big finale for this story is going to be figuring out how to reconcile the two sides of herself.

This is a step up from the first story and I can’t wait to see how it ends.  We get a teaser about what story will be drawn from next and I think it’s going to be great.  For this story I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

